Current 2023 MLB American League Winner Odds

Below you can see the current odds for the 2023 MLB American League Winner from BetRivers Sportsbook. You can bet on who will win the American League at every major online sportsbook in the U.S.

The MLB American League winner odds table below updates daily so you can always see the current odds. You can see current World Series odds here and National League winner odds here

2023 MLB American League Odds

Event time: 10.29.2023 12:59 PM ET Odds last updated: 09.29.2023 06:41 AM ET


Winner – Including Playoffs


BAL Orioles


TEX Rangers


HOU Astros


TB Rays


TOR Blue Jays


MIN Twins


SEA Mariners


How the MLB American League Winner is Determined

The American League (AL) is one of two leagues in Major League Baseball, and it consists of three divisions: East, Central, and West. After the regular season wraps up, the teams with the best win-loss records in each division automatically qualify for the playoffs. That means there are three division winners in the AL.

In addition to the division winners, two other teams from the AL also make it to the playoffs based on their win-loss records. These two teams are the wild card teams, and they're the ones with the best records that didn't manage to win their divisions.

Now let's talk about the wild card game. This is a high-stakes, winner-takes-all showdown between the two AL wild card teams. The winner of this game advances to the next round, known as the Division Series.

The structure of the playoffs in the American League is as follows:

  1. Wild Card Game: This is a one-game playoff between the two AL wild card teams, with the winner moving on to the Division Series.
  2. Division Series (ALDS): In the AL Division Series, four teams compete in two matchups. The top division winner plays against the Wild Card Game winner, while the other two division winners face off against each other. The ALDS is a best-of-five series, meaning the first team to win three games in each matchup advances to the Championship Series.
  3. Championship Series (ALCS): The winners of the Division Series matchups battle it out in a best-of-seven series. The first team to win four games becomes the American League champion and earns a spot in the World Series.

The MLB American League playoffs feature division winners and wild card teams competing through several thrilling rounds. The wild card game is particularly intense, as it's a one-game, do-or-die matchup that determines who advances to the Division Series. After the Division Series and Championship Series, the American League champion is crowned and goes on to face the National League champion in the World Series.

Past MLB American League Winners

Here's a list of MLB American League winners from the beginning in 1903 up to 2022:

2022: Houston Astros
2021: Houston Astros
2020: Tampa Bay Rays
2019: Houston Astros
2018: Boston Red Sox
2017: Houston Astros
2016: Cleveland Indians
2015: Kansas City Royals
2014: Kansas City Royals
2013: Boston Red Sox
2012: Detroit Tigers
2011: Texas Rangers
2010: Texas Rangers
2009: New York Yankees
2008: Tampa Bay Rays
2007: Boston Red Sox
2006: Detroit Tigers
2005: Chicago White Sox
2004: Boston Red Sox
2003: New York Yankees
2002: Anaheim Angels
2001: New York Yankees
2000: New York Yankees
1999: New York Yankees
1998: New York Yankees
1997: Cleveland Indians
1996: New York Yankees
1995: Cleveland Indians
1994: No champion (strike)
1993: Toronto Blue Jays
1992: Toronto Blue Jays
1991: Minnesota Twins
1990: Oakland Athletics
1989: Oakland Athletics
1988: Oakland Athletics
1987: Minnesota Twins
1986: Boston Red Sox
1985: Kansas City Royals
1984: Detroit Tigers
1983: Baltimore Orioles
1982: Milwaukee Brewers
1981: New York Yankees
1980: Kansas City Royals
1979: Baltimore Orioles
1978: New York Yankees
1977: New York Yankees
1976: New York Yankees
1975: Boston Red Sox
1974: Oakland Athletics
1973: Oakland Athletics
1972: Oakland Athletics
1971: Baltimore Orioles
1970: Baltimore Orioles
1969: Baltimore Orioles
1968: Detroit Tigers
1967: Boston Red Sox
1966: Baltimore Orioles
1965: Minnesota Twins
1964: New York Yankees
1963: New York Yankees
1962: New York Yankees
1961: New York Yankees
1960: New York Yankees
1959: Chicago White Sox
1958: New York Yankees
1957: New York Yankees
1956: New York Yankees
1955: New York Yankees
1954: Cleveland Indians
1953: New York Yankees
1952: New York Yankees
1951: New York Yankees
1950: New York Yankees
1949: New York Yankees
1948: Cleveland Indians
1947: New York Yankees
1946: Boston Red Sox
1945: Detroit Tigers
1944: St. Louis Browns
1943: New York Yankees
1942: New York Yankees
1941: New York Yankees
1940: Detroit Tigers
1939: New York Yankees
1938: New York Yankees
1937: New York Yankees
1936: New York Yankees
1935: Detroit Tigers
1934: Detroit Tigers
1933: Washington Senators
1932: New York Yankees
1931: Philadelphia Athletics
1930: Philadelphia Athletics
1929: Philadelphia Athletics
1928: New York Yankees
1927: New York Yankees
1926: New York Yankees
1925: Washington Senators
1924: Washington Senators
1923: New York Yankees
1922: New York Yankees
1921: New York Yankees
1920: Cleveland Indians
1919: Chicago White Sox
1918: Boston Red Sox
1917: Chicago White Sox
1916: Boston Red Sox
1915: Boston Red Sox
1914: Philadelphia Athletics
1913: Philadelphia Athletics
1912: Boston Red Sox
1911: Philadelphia Athletics
1910: Philadelphia Athletics
1909: Detroit Tigers
1908: Detroit Tigers
1907: Detroit Tigers
1906: Chicago White Sox
1905: Philadelphia Athletics
1904: Boston Red Sox (known as the Boston Americans at the time)
1903: Boston Red Sox (known as the Boston Americans at the time)

The American League was founded in 1901, and the inaugural World Series was held in 1903, so there are no champions before that year.

Dave Rathmanner

Dave Rathmanner is the Founder & CEO of Odds Assist. After struggling to find helpful sports betting resources and honest reviews when he first started betting, he decided to create the site he always wished he had. Dave has been betting on sports since NJ legalized it in 2018 and regularly analyzes sportsbooks to find the best options for bettors. Aside from creating new content for OA readers, Dave is also passionate about researching betting markets, creating models, and developing profitable betting strategies.