2023 MLB American League Rookie of the Year Odds

Below you can see the current odds for the 2023 MLB American League Rookie of the Year (AL ROY) Winner from BetRivers Sportsbook. You can bet on who will win the AL ROY award at every major online sportsbook in the U.S.

The MLB AL Rookie of the Year winner odds table below updates daily so you can always see the current odds.

2023 MLB American League Rookie of the Year Odds

[Event already occurred]

How the MLB American League Rookie of the Year is Determined

Each year, the Baseball Writers' Association of America (BBWAA) votes to decide the Rookie of the Year for both the American League and the National League. The voters are baseball journalists from across the United States and Canada who are members of the BBWAA. They're the ones who watch these rookies play all season long, and they use their expertise to evaluate each player's performance.

To be eligible for the Rookie of the Year award, a player must meet certain criteria. According to MLB rules, a player is considered a rookie if they have not exceeded 130 at-bats or 50 innings pitched in the major leagues, and they haven't been on a Major League roster for more than 45 days during the 25-player limit period.

When it's time to vote, each BBWAA member selects their top three choices for the award in each league, ranking them in order from first to third. A points system is used to tally the votes, with a first-place vote being worth 5 points, a second-place vote worth 3 points, and a third-place vote worth 1 point. After all the votes are in and the points are added up, the player with the highest point total in each league is named the Rookie of the Year.

Past MLB American League Rookie of the Year Winners

Here's a list of MLB American League Rookie of the Year League winners since the award was first introduced in 1947:

2022: Julio Rodríguez (Seattle Mariners)
2021: Randy Arozarena (Tampa Bay Rays)
2020: Kyle Lewis (Seattle Mariners)
2019: Yordan Alvarez (Houston Astros)
2018: Shohei Ohtani (Los Angeles Angels)
2017: Aaron Judge (New York Yankees)
2016: Michael Fulmer (Detroit Tigers)
2015: Carlos Correa (Houston Astros)
2014: José Abreu (Chicago White Sox)
2013: Wil Myers (Tampa Bay Rays)
2012: Mike Trout (Los Angeles Angels)
2011: Jeremy Hellickson (Tampa Bay Rays)
2010: Neftalí Feliz (Texas Rangers)
2009: Andrew Bailey (Oakland Athletics)
2008: Evan Longoria (Tampa Bay Rays)
2007: Dustin Pedroia (Boston Red Sox)
2006: Justin Verlander (Detroit Tigers)
2005: Huston Street (Oakland Athletics)
2004: Bobby Crosby (Oakland Athletics)
2003: Ángel Berroa (Kansas City Royals)
2002: Eric Hinske (Toronto Blue Jays)
2001: Ichiro Suzuki (Seattle Mariners)
2000: Kazuhiro Sasaki (Seattle Mariners)
1999: Carlos Beltrán (Kansas City Royals)
1998: Ben Grieve (Oakland Athletics)
1997: Nomar Garciaparra (Boston Red Sox)
1996: Derek Jeter (New York Yankees)
1995: Marty Cordova (Minnesota Twins)
1994: Bob Hamelin (Kansas City Royals)
1993: Tim Salmon (California Angels)
1992: Pat Listach (Milwaukee Brewers)
1991: Chuck Knoblauch (Minnesota Twins)
1990: Sandy Alomar Jr. (Cleveland Indians)
1989: Gregg Olson (Baltimore Orioles)
1988: Walt Weiss (Oakland Athletics)
1987: Mark McGwire (Oakland Athletics)
1986: José Canseco (Oakland Athletics)
1985: Ozzie Guillén (Chicago White Sox)
1984: Alvin Davis (Seattle Mariners)
1983: Ron Kittle (Chicago White Sox)
1982: Cal Ripken Jr. (Baltimore Orioles)
1981: Dave Righetti (New York Yankees)
1980: Joe Charboneau (Cleveland Indians)
1979: John Castino (Minnesota Twins) and Alfredo Griffin (Toronto Blue Jays) (co-winners)
1978: Lou Whitaker (Detroit Tigers)
1977: Eddie Murray (Baltimore Orioles)
1976: Mark Fidrych (Detroit Tigers)
1975: Fred Lynn (Boston Red Sox)
1974: Mike Hargrove (Texas Rangers)
1973: Al Bumbry (Baltimore Orioles)
1972: Carlton Fisk (Boston Red Sox)
1971: Chris Chambliss (Cleveland Indians)
1970: Thurman Munson (New York Yankees)
1969: Lou Piniella (Kansas City Royals)
1968: Stan Bahnsen (New York Yankees)
1967: Rod Carew (Minnesota Twins)
1966: Tommie Agee (Chicago White Sox)
1965: Curt Blefary (Baltimore Orioles)
1964: Tony Oliva (Minnesota Twins)
1963: Gary Peters (Chicago White Sox)
1962: Tom Tresh (New York Yankees)
1961: Don Schwall (Boston Red Sox)
1960: Ron Hansen (Baltimore Orioles)
1959: Bob Allison (Washington Senators)
1958: Albie Pearson (Washington Senators)
1957: Tony Kubek (New York Yankees)
1956: Luis Aparicio (Chicago White Sox)
1955: Herb Score (Cleveland Indians)
1954: Bob Grim (New York Yankees)
1953: Harvey Kuenn (Detroit Tigers)
1952: Clint Courtney (St. Louis Browns)
1951: Gil McDougald (New York Yankees)
1950: Walt Dropo (Boston Red Sox)
1949: Roy Sievers (St. Louis Browns)
1948: Alvin Dark (Boston Braves)
1947: Jackie Robinson (Brooklyn Dodgers)

Note that the Rookie of the Year award was first introduced in 1947, with Jackie Robinson as its inaugural winner. However, starting in 1949, separate awards were given to the American and National Leagues.

Dave Rathmanner

Dave Rathmanner is the Founder & CEO of Odds Assist. After struggling to find helpful sports betting resources and honest reviews when he first started betting, he decided to create the site he always wished he had. Dave has been betting on sports since NJ legalized it in 2018 and regularly analyzes sportsbooks to find the best options for bettors. Aside from creating new content for OA readers, Dave is also passionate about researching betting markets, creating models, and developing profitable betting strategies.