2023 MLB American League West Odds

Below you can see the current odds for the 2023 MLB American League West division winner from BetRivers Sportsbook. You can bet on who will win the AL West at every major online sportsbook in the U.S. Updates daily.

MLB AL West Odds

[Event already occurred]

How the MLB American League West Winner is Determined

The American League West Division is made up of five teams: Houston Astros, Los Angeles Angels, Oakland Athletics, Seattle Mariners, and Texas Rangers. At the end of the regular season, the team with the best win-loss record in the division is declared the division winner.

Each team plays a total of 162 games during the regular season, and the team with the most wins in AL West at the end of the season earns a spot in the MLB playoffs. If two or more teams in the division have the same win-loss record, a tiebreaker game or series is played to determine the division winner.

The AL West is a highly competitive division with each team having their moments of success. The Houston Astros have been the most dominant team in recent years, winning the division title multiple times. The Oakland Athletics have also emerged as contenders in the division and have made the playoffs in multiple years. The Seattle Mariners, Los Angeles Angels, and Texas Rangers have also had their moments of success.

Past MLB AL West Winners

2022: Houston Astros
2021: Houston Astros
2020: Oakland Athletics
2019: Houston Astros
2018: Houston Astros
2017: Houston Astros
2016: Texas Rangers
2015: Texas Rangers
2014: Los Angeles Angels
2013: Oakland Athletics
2012: Oakland Athletics
2011: Texas Rangers
2010: Texas Rangers
2009: Los Angeles Angels
2008: Los Angeles Angels
2007: Los Angeles Angels
2006: Oakland Athletics
2005: Los Angeles Angels
2004: Anaheim Angels
2003: Oakland Athletics
2002: Oakland Athletics
2001: Seattle Mariners
2000: Oakland Athletics
1999: Texas Rangers
1998: Texas Rangers
1997: Seattle Mariners
1996: Texas Rangers
1995: Seattle Mariners
1994: Strike-shortened season, no official winner declared
1993: Chicago White Sox (prior to realignment)
1992: Oakland Athletics (prior to realignment)
1991: Minnesota Twins (prior to realignment)
1990: Oakland Athletics (prior to realignment)
1989: Oakland Athletics
1988: Oakland Athletics
1987: Minnesota Twins
1986: California Angels
1985: Kansas City Royals
1984: Kansas City Royals
1983: Chicago White Sox
1982: California Angels
1981: Oakland Athletics
1980: Kansas City Royals
1979: California Angels
1978: Kansas City Royals
1977: Kansas City Royals
1976: Kansas City Royals
1975: Oakland Athletics
1974: Oakland Athletics
1973: Oakland Athletics
1972: Oakland Athletics
1971: Oakland Athletics
1970: Minnesota Twins
1969: Oakland Athletics

Note that prior to the formation of divisions in 1969, the American League was made up of two divisions, the Eastern and Western Divisions. The Minnesota Twins won the Western Division in 1969 before it was reorganized into the American League West Division the following year.

Dave Rathmanner

Dave Rathmanner is the Founder & CEO of Odds Assist. After struggling to find helpful sports betting resources and honest reviews when he first started betting, he decided to create the site he always wished he had. Dave has been betting on sports since NJ legalized it in 2018 and regularly analyzes sportsbooks to find the best options for bettors. Aside from creating new content for OA readers, Dave is also passionate about researching betting markets, creating models, and developing profitable betting strategies.