Current 2023 MLB National League Winner Odds

Below you can see the current odds for the 2023 MLB National League Winner from BetRivers Sportsbook. You can bet on who will win the National League at every major online sportsbook in the U.S.

The MLB National League winner odds table below updates daily so you can always see the current odds. You can see current World Series odds here and American League winner odds here

2023 MLB National League Odds

[Event already occurred]

How the MLB National League Winner is Determined

The National League (NL) is one of two leagues in Major League Baseball, and it consists of three divisions: East, Central, and West. After the regular season wraps up, the teams with the best win-loss records in each division automatically qualify for the playoffs. That means there are three division winners in the NL.

In addition to the division winners, two other teams from the NL also make it to the playoffs based on their win-loss records. These two teams are the wild card teams, and they're the ones with the best records that didn't manage to win their divisions.

Now let's talk about the wild card game. This is a high-stakes, winner-takes-all showdown between the two NL wild card teams. The winner of this game advances to the next round, known as the Division Series.

The structure of the playoffs in the National League is as follows:

  1. Wild Card Game: This is a one-game playoff between the two NL wild card teams, with the winner moving on to the Division Series.
  2. Division Series (NLDS): In the NL Division Series, four teams compete in two matchups. The top division winner plays against the Wild Card Game winner, while the other two division winners face off against each other. The NLDS is a best-of-five series, meaning the first team to win three games in each matchup advances to the Championship Series.
  3. Championship Series (NLCS): The winners of the Division Series matchups battle it out in a best-of-seven series. The first team to win four games becomes the National League champion and earns a spot in the World Series.

The MLB National League playoffs feature division winners and wild card teams competing through several thrilling rounds. The wild card game is particularly intense, as it's a one-game, do-or-die matchup that determines who advances to the Division Series. After the Division Series and Championship Series, the National League champion is crowned and goes on to face the American League champion in the World Series.

Past MLB National League Winners

Here's a list of MLB National League winners from the beginning in 1903 up to 2022:

2022: Philadelphia Phillies
2021: Atlanta Braves
2020: Los Angeles Dodgers
2019: Washington Nationals
2018: Los Angeles Dodgers
2017: Los Angeles Dodgers
2016: Chicago Cubs
2015: New York Mets
2014: San Francisco Giants
2013: St. Louis Cardinals
2012: San Francisco Giants
2011: St. Louis Cardinals
2010: San Francisco Giants
2009: Philadelphia Phillies
2008: Philadelphia Phillies
2007: Colorado Rockies
2006: St. Louis Cardinals
2005: Houston Astros
2004: St. Louis Cardinals
2003: Florida Marlins
2002: San Francisco Giants
2001: Arizona Diamondbacks
2000: New York Mets
1999: Atlanta Braves
1998: San Diego Padres
1997: Florida Marlins
1996: Atlanta Braves
1995: Atlanta Braves
1994: No champion (strike)
1993: Philadelphia Phillies
1992: Atlanta Braves
1991: Atlanta Braves
1990: Cincinnati Reds
1989: San Francisco Giants
1988: Los Angeles Dodgers
1987: St. Louis Cardinals
1986: New York Mets
1985: St. Louis Cardinals
1984: San Diego Padres
1983: Philadelphia Phillies
1982: St. Louis Cardinals
1981: Los Angeles Dodgers
1980: Philadelphia Phillies
1979: Pittsburgh Pirates
1978: Los Angeles Dodgers
1977: Los Angeles Dodgers
1976: Cincinnati Reds
1975: Cincinnati Reds
1974: Los Angeles Dodgers
1973: New York Mets
1972: Cincinnati Reds
1971: Pittsburgh Pirates
1970: Cincinnati Reds
1969: New York Mets
1968: St. Louis Cardinals
1967: St. Louis Cardinals
1966: Los Angeles Dodgers
1965: Los Angeles Dodgers
1964: St. Louis Cardinals
1963: Los Angeles Dodgers
1962: San Francisco Giants
1961: Cincinnati Reds
1960: Pittsburgh Pirates
1959: Los Angeles Dodgers
1958: Milwaukee Braves
1957: Milwaukee Braves
1956: Brooklyn Dodgers
1955: Brooklyn Dodgers
1954: New York Giants
1953: Brooklyn Dodgers
1952: Brooklyn Dodgers
1951: New York Giants
1950: Philadelphia Phillies
1949: Brooklyn Dodgers
1948: Boston Braves
1947: Brooklyn Dodgers
1946: St. Louis Cardinals
1945: Chicago Cubs
1944: St. Louis Cardinals
1943: St. Louis Cardinals
1942: St. Louis Cardinals
1941: Brooklyn Dodgers
1940: Cincinnati Reds
1939: Cincinnati Reds
1938: Chicago Cubs
1937: New York Giants
1936: New York Giants
1935: Chicago Cubs
1934: St. Louis Cardinals
1933: New York Giants
1932: Chicago Cubs
1931: St. Louis Cardinals
1930: St. Louis Cardinals
1929: Chicago Cubs
1928: St. Louis Cardinals
1927: Pittsburgh Pirates
1926: St. Louis Cardinals
1925: Pittsburgh Pirates
1924: New York Giants
1923: New York Giants
1922: New York Giants
1921: New York Giants
1920: Brooklyn Robins
1919: Cincinnati Reds
1918: Chicago Cubs
1917: New York Giants
1916: Brooklyn Robins
1915: Philadelphia Phillies
1914: Boston Braves
1913: New York Giants
1912: New York Giants
1911: New York Giants
1910: Chicago Cubs
1909: Pittsburgh Pirates
1908: Chicago Cubs
1907: Chicago Cubs
1906: Chicago Cubs
1905: New York Giants
1904: New York Giants*
1903: Pittsburgh Pirates

* Note that although the New York Giants won the National League championship in 1904, there was no World Series held that year due to a disagreement between the team owners.

Dave Rathmanner

Dave Rathmanner is the Founder & CEO of Odds Assist. After struggling to find helpful sports betting resources and honest reviews when he first started betting, he decided to create the site he always wished he had. Dave has been betting on sports since NJ legalized it in 2018 and regularly analyzes sportsbooks to find the best options for bettors. Aside from creating new content for OA readers, Dave is also passionate about researching betting markets, creating models, and developing profitable betting strategies.