NBA Defensive Player of the Year (DPOY) Odds

Below you can see the odds for the 2022-23 NBA Defensive Player of the Year (DPOY) winner from BetRivers Sportsbook. You can bet on who will DPOY at every major online sportsbook in the U.S.

The NBA DPOY Winner odds table below updates daily so you can always see the current odds.


[Event already occurred]

How the NBA DPOY Winner is Determined

The NBA Defensive Player of the Year (DPOY) is an award given to the best defensive player in the regular season. The award has been given out since the 1982-83 season, and the winner is selected by a panel of NBA sportswriters and broadcasters from across the United States and Canada.

To determine the DPOY, the voting panel selects five finalists based on their defensive performance throughout the regular season. These finalists are then ranked from first to fifth place, with each first-place vote worth 5 points, each second-place vote worth 3 points, and each third-place vote worth 1 point. The player with the most total points at the end of the voting process is declared the winner.

When evaluating players for the DPOY award, the voting panel considers a variety of defensive statistics, including blocks, steals, rebounds, and deflections. They also take into account a player's ability to effectively guard their opponent, alter their shots, and disrupt their offensive game plan. Additionally, the panel looks at a player's overall impact on their team's defense, including their ability to communicate and lead on the court.

In recent years, advanced statistics have also become a significant factor in choosing the DPOY winner. These include metrics such as defensive win shares, defensive box plus/minus, and defensive rating, all of which provide a more in-depth analysis of a player's overall defensive contribution.

Ultimately, the NBA Defensive Player of the Year award is given to the player who voters think had the most significant impact on the defensive end of the court. It is a prestigious honor that recognizes the hard work and dedication of players who consistently demonstrate exceptional defensive skills and abilities.

Past NBA DPOY Winners

Here is a list of past NBA DPOY winners:

  • 2023: Jaren Jackson Jr. (Memphis Grizzlies)
  • 2022: Marcus Smart (Boston Celtics)
  • 2021: Rudy Gobert (Utah Jazz)
  • 2020: Giannis Antetokounmpo (Milwaukee Bucks)
  • 2019: Rudy Gobert (Utah Jazz)
  • 2018: Rudy Gobert (Utah Jazz)
  • 2017: Draymond Green (Golden State Warriors)
  • 2016: Kawhi Leonard (San Antonio Spurs)
  • 2015: Kawhi Leonard (San Antonio Spurs)
  • 2014: Joakim Noah (Chicago Bulls)
  • 2013: Marc Gasol (Memphis Grizzlies)
  • 2012: Tyson Chandler (New York Knicks)
  • 2011: Dwight Howard (Orlando Magic)
  • 2010: Dwight Howard (Orlando Magic)
  • 2009: Dwight Howard (Orlando Magic)
  • 2008: Kevin Garnett (Boston Celtics)
  • 2007: Marcus Camby (Denver Nuggets)
  • 2006: Ben Wallace (Detroit Pistons)
  • 2005: Ben Wallace (Detroit Pistons)
  • 2004: Ron Artest (Indiana Pacers)
  • 2003: Ben Wallace (Detroit Pistons)
  • 2002: Ben Wallace (Detroit Pistons)
  • 2001: Dikembe Mutombo (Philadelphia 76ers)
  • 2000: Alonzo Mourning (Miami Heat)
  • 1999: Alonzo Mourning (Miami Heat)
  • 1998: Dikembe Mutombo (Atlanta Hawks)
  • 1997: Dikembe Mutombo (Atlanta Hawks)
  • 1996: Gary Payton (Seattle SuperSonics)
  • 1995: Dikembe Mutombo (Denver Nuggets)
  • 1994: Hakeem Olajuwon (Houston Rockets)
  • 1993: Hakeem Olajuwon (Houston Rockets)
  • 1992: David Robinson (San Antonio Spurs)
  • 1991: Dennis Rodman (Detroit Pistons)
  • 1990: Dennis Rodman (Detroit Pistons)
  • 1989: Mark Eaton (Utah Jazz)
  • 1988: Michael Jordan (Chicago Bulls)
  • 1987: Michael Cooper (Los Angeles Lakers)
  • 1986: Alvin Robertson (San Antonio Spurs)
  • 1985: Mark Eaton (Utah Jazz)
  • 1984: Sidney Moncrief (Milwaukee Bucks)
  • 1983: Sidney Moncrief (Milwaukee Bucks)
  • 1982: Sidney Moncrief (Milwaukee Bucks)
  • 1981: Mark Eaton (Utah Jazz)
  • 1980: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Los Angeles Lakers)

Other NBA Odds Pages

Dave Rathmanner

Dave Rathmanner is the Founder & CEO of Odds Assist. After struggling to find helpful sports betting resources and honest reviews when he first started betting, he decided to create the site he always wished he had. Dave has been betting on sports since NJ legalized it in 2018 and regularly analyzes sportsbooks to find the best options for bettors. Aside from creating new content for OA readers, Dave is also passionate about researching betting markets, creating models, and developing profitable betting strategies.