2023-24 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year Odds

Below you can see the current odds for the 2023-24 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year from BetRivers Sportsbook. You can bet on who will win DROY at every major online sportsbook in the U.S. Updates daily.

2023-24 NFL Defensie Rookie of the Year Odds

[Event already occurred]

How the NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year is Determined

The NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year is an annual award given to the most outstanding defensive rookie player in the league.

The winner is determined through a voting process involving members of the Associated Press (AP), a popular U.S. news agency.

Here's an overview of how the Defensive Rookie of the Year is determined:

  • Eligibility: To be eligible for the Defensive Rookie of the Year award, a player must be in his first season in the NFL. This includes drafted and undrafted rookies, as well as players who were on practice squads or injured reserve in prior seasons but did not play in any regular-season or postseason games.
  • Regular season performance: Throughout the regular season, eligible rookies showcase their skills and abilities in games. Voters keep an eye on key defensive statistics, such as tackles, sacks, interceptions, forced fumbles, and pass deflections, as well as other factors like impact on the team's success, consistency, and overall performance.
  • Voting: At the end of the regular season, members of the Associated Press who cover the NFL cast their votes for the Defensive Rookie of the Year. Each voter selects one player based on their evaluation of the rookies' performance throughout the season.
  • Winner determination: The player who receives the most votes from the AP voters is declared the NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year. In case of a tie, the award is shared between the tied players.

How DROY Odds Are Set

For sports betting markets related to the Defensive Rookie of the Year, bookmakers consider several factors when setting the odds, such as:

  • Preseason analysis: Bookmakers analyze each rookie's potential based on their college performance, draft position, team fit, and opportunity for playing time.
  • In-season performance: Throughout the season, bookmakers adjust the odds based on the rookies' on-field performance and any relevant news, such as injuries or changes in team dynamics.
  • Public perception: Bookmakers factor in public perception and betting patterns when setting the odds, as bettors may have biases or preferences that can influence the betting market.
  • Market adjustments: As bets are placed, bookmakers monitor the betting patterns and may adjust the odds to encourage or discourage further betting on a particular player. They may also update the odds based on the performance and news surrounding the rookies.

Past NFL DROY Winners

2022: Sauce Gardner, Cornerback, New York Jets
2021: Micah Parsons, Linebacker, Dallas Cowboys
2020: Chase Young, Defensive End, Washington Football Team
2019: Nick Bosa, Defensive End, San Francisco 49ers
2018: Darius Leonard, Linebacker, Indianapolis Colts
2017: Marshon Lattimore, Cornerback, New Orleans Saints
2016: Joey Bosa, Defensive End, San Diego Chargers
2015: Marcus Peters, Cornerback, Kansas City Chiefs
2014: Aaron Donald, Defensive Tackle, St. Louis Rams
2013: Sheldon Richardson, Defensive Tackle, New York Jets
2012: Luke Kuechly, Linebacker, Carolina Panthers
2011: Von Miller, Linebacker, Denver Broncos
2010: Ndamukong Suh, Defensive Tackle, Detroit Lions
2009: Brian Cushing, Linebacker, Houston Texans
2008: Jerod Mayo, Linebacker, New England Patriots
2007: Patrick Willis, Linebacker, San Francisco 49ers
2006: DeMeco Ryans, Linebacker, Houston Texans
2005: Shawne Merriman, Linebacker, San Diego Chargers
2004: Jonathan Vilma, Linebacker, New York Jets
2003: Terrell Suggs, Linebacker, Baltimore Ravens
2002: Julius Peppers, Defensive End, Carolina Panthers
2001: Kendrell Bell, Linebacker, Pittsburgh Steelers
2000: Brian Urlacher, Linebacker, Chicago Bears
1999: Jevon Kearse, Defensive End, Tennessee Titans
1998: Charles Woodson, Cornerback, Oakland Raiders
1997: Peter Boulware, Linebacker, Baltimore Ravens
1996: Simeon Rice, Defensive End, Arizona Cardinals
1995: Hugh Douglas, Defensive End, New York Jets
1994: Tim Bowens, Defensive Tackle, Miami Dolphins
1993: Dana Stubblefield, Defensive Tackle, San Francisco 49ers
1992: Dale Carter, Cornerback, Kansas City Chiefs
1991: Mike Croel, Linebacker, Denver Broncos
1990: Mark Carrier, Safety, Chicago Bears
1989: Derrick Thomas, Linebacker, Kansas City Chiefs
1988: Erik McMillan, Safety, New York Jets
1987: Shane Conlan, Linebacker, Buffalo Bills
1986: John Offerdahl, Linebacker, Miami Dolphins
1985: Duane Bickett, Linebacker, Indianapolis Colts
1984: Bill Maas, Defensive Tackle, Kansas City Chiefs
1983: Vernon Maxwell, Linebacker, Baltimore Colts
1982: Chip Banks, Linebacker, Cleveland Browns
1981: Lawrence Taylor, Linebacker, New York Giants
1980: Buddy Curry, Linebacker, Atlanta Falcons
1979: Jim Haslett, Linebacker, Buffalo Bills
1978: Al Baker, Defensive End, Detroit Lions
1977: A.J. Duhe, Linebacker, Miami Dolphins
1976: Mike Haynes, Cornerback, New England Patriots
1975: Robert Brazile, Linebacker, Houston Oilers
1974: Jack Lambert, Linebacker, Pittsburgh Steelers
1973: Wally Chambers, Defensive Tackle, Chicago Bears
1972: Willie Buchanon, Cornerback, Green Bay Packers
1971: Isiah Robertson, Linebacker, Los Angeles Rams
1970: Bruce Taylor, Safety, San Francisco 49ers
1969: Calvin Hill, Linebacker, Dallas Cowboys
1968: Claude Humphrey, Defensive End, Atlanta Falcons
1967: Lem Barney, Cornerback, Detroit Lions

Dave Rathmanner

Dave Rathmanner is the Founder & CEO of Odds Assist. After struggling to find helpful sports betting resources and honest reviews when he first started betting, he decided to create the site he always wished he had. Dave has been betting on sports since NJ legalized it in 2018 and regularly analyzes sportsbooks to find the best options for bettors. Aside from creating new content for OA readers, Dave is also passionate about researching betting markets, creating models, and developing profitable betting strategies.