2023 MLB American League MVP Odds

Below you can see the current odds for the 2023 MLB American League MVP Winner from BetRivers Sportsbook. You can bet on who will win the AL MVP award at every major online sportsbook in the U.S.

The MLB AL MVP winner odds table below updates daily so you can always see the current odds.

2023 MLB American League MVP Odds

[Event already occurred]

How the MLB American League MVP is Determined

The Baseball Writers' Association of America (BBWAA) is responsible for determining the MVP for both the American League and the National League. These voters are baseball journalists from various cities in the United States and Canada, and they closely follow the players throughout the season, evaluating their performances on and off the field.

When the time comes to cast their votes, each BBWAA member selects their top ten choices for the MVP in both leagues, ranking them in order from first to tenth. A points system is used to tally the votes, with a first-place vote being worth 14 points, a second-place vote worth 9 points, a third-place vote worth 8 points, and so on, down to a tenth-place vote worth 1 point. Once all the votes are in and the points are added up, the player with the highest point total in each league is declared the MVP.

It's important to note that the MVP award is not strictly about statistics, as factors such as team success, individual contributions to the team, and overall impact on the game are all taken into account by the voters.

Past MLB American League MVP Winners

Here's a list of MLB American League MVP winners going back to when the award was first introduced:

2022: Aaron Judge (New York Yankees)
2021: Shohei Ohtani (Los Angeles Angels)
2020: José Abreu (Chicago White Sox)
2019: Mike Trout (Los Angeles Angels)
2018: Mookie Betts (Boston Red Sox)
2017: José Altuve (Houston Astros)
2016: Mike Trout (Los Angeles Angels)
2015: Josh Donaldson (Toronto Blue Jays)
2014: Mike Trout (Los Angeles Angels)
2013: Miguel Cabrera (Detroit Tigers)
2012: Miguel Cabrera (Detroit Tigers)
2011: Justin Verlander (Detroit Tigers)
2010: Josh Hamilton (Texas Rangers)
2009: Joe Mauer (Minnesota Twins)
2008: Dustin Pedroia (Boston Red Sox)
2007: Alex Rodriguez (New York Yankees)
2006: Justin Morneau (Minnesota Twins)
2005: Alex Rodriguez (New York Yankees)
2004: Vladimir Guerrero (Anaheim Angels)
2003: Alex Rodriguez (Texas Rangers)
2002: Miguel Tejada (Oakland Athletics)
2001: Ichiro Suzuki (Seattle Mariners)
2000: Jason Giambi (Oakland Athletics)
1999: Iván Rodríguez (Texas Rangers)
1998: Juan González (Texas Rangers)
1997: Ken Griffey Jr. (Seattle Mariners)
1996: Juan González (Texas Rangers)
1995: Mo Vaughn (Boston Red Sox)
1994: Frank Thomas (Chicago White Sox)
1993: Frank Thomas (Chicago White Sox)
1992: Dennis Eckersley (Oakland Athletics)
1991: Cal Ripken Jr. (Baltimore Orioles)
1990: Rickey Henderson (Oakland Athletics)
1989: Robin Yount (Milwaukee Brewers)
1988: José Canseco (Oakland Athletics)
1987: George Bell (Toronto Blue Jays)
1986: Roger Clemens (Boston Red Sox)
1985: Don Mattingly (New York Yankees)
1984: Willie Hernández (Detroit Tigers)
1983: Cal Ripken Jr. (Baltimore Orioles)
1982: Robin Yount (Milwaukee Brewers)
1981: Rollie Fingers (Milwaukee Brewers)
1980: George Brett (Kansas City Royals)
1979: Don Baylor (California Angels)
1978: Jim Rice (Boston Red Sox)
1977: Rod Carew (Minnesota Twins)
1976: Thurman Munson (New York Yankees)
1975: Fred Lynn (Boston Red Sox)
1974: Jeff Burroughs (Texas Rangers)
1973: Reggie Jackson (Oakland Athletics)
1972: Dick Allen (Chicago White Sox)
1971: Vida Blue (Oakland Athletics)
1970: Boog Powell (Baltimore Orioles)
1969: Harmon Killebrew (Minnesota Twins)
1968: Denny McLain (Detroit Tigers)
1967: Carl Yastrzemski (Boston Red Sox)
1966: Frank Robinson (Baltimore Orioles)
1965: Zoilo Versalles (Minnesota Twins)
1964: Brooks Robinson (Baltimore Orioles)
1963: Elston Howard (New York Yankees)
1962: Mickey Mantle (New York Yankees)
1961: Roger Maris (New York Yankees)
1960: Roger Maris (New York Yankees)
1959: Nellie Fox (Chicago White Sox)
1958: Jackie Jensen (Boston Red Sox)
1957: Mickey Mantle (New York Yankees)
1956: Mickey Mantle (New York Yankees)
1955: Yogi Berra (New York Yankees)
1954: Yogi Berra (New York Yankees)
1953: Al Rosen (Cleveland Indians)
1952: Bobby Shantz (Philadelphia Athletics)
1951: Yogi Berra (New York Yankees)
1950: Phil Rizzuto (New York Yankees)
1949: Ted Williams (Boston Red Sox)
1948: Lou Boudreau (Cleveland Indians)
1947: Joe DiMaggio (New York Yankees)
1946: Ted Williams (Boston Red Sox)
1945: Hal Newhouser (Detroit Tigers)
1944: Hal Newhouser (Detroit Tigers)
1943: Spud Chandler (New York Yankees)
1942: Joe Gordon (New York Yankees)
1941: Joe DiMaggio (New York Yankees)
1940: Hank Greenberg (Detroit Tigers)
1939: Joe DiMaggio (New York Yankees)
1938: Jimmie Foxx (Boston Red Sox)
1937: Charlie Gehringer (Detroit Tigers)
1936: Lou Gehrig (New York Yankees)
1935: Hank Greenberg (Detroit Tigers)
1934: Mickey Cochrane (Detroit Tigers)
1933: Jimmie Foxx (Philadelphia Athletics)
1932: Jimmie Foxx (Philadelphia Athletics)
1931: Lefty Grove (Philadelphia Athletics)

Before 1931, the MVP award was known as the League Award, and it was given to the best player in the American League for the years 1924-1929:

1930: No award
1929: Lefty Grove (Philadelphia Athletics)
1928: Mickey Cochrane (Philadelphia Athletics)
1927: Lou Gehrig (New York Yankees)
1926: No award
1925: Roger Peckinpaugh (Washington Senators)
1924: Walter Johnson (Washington Senators)

Dave Rathmanner

Dave Rathmanner is the Founder & CEO of Odds Assist. After struggling to find helpful sports betting resources and honest reviews when he first started betting, he decided to create the site he always wished he had. Dave has been betting on sports since NJ legalized it in 2018 and regularly analyzes sportsbooks to find the best options for bettors. Aside from creating new content for OA readers, Dave is also passionate about researching betting markets, creating models, and developing profitable betting strategies.