2023 MLB National League MVP Odds

Below you can see the current odds for the 2023 MLB National League MVP Winner from BetRivers Sportsbook. You can bet on who will win the NL MVP award at every major online sportsbook in the U.S.

The MLB NL MVP winner odds table below updates daily so you can always see the current odds.

2023 MLB National League MVP Odds

[Event already occurred]

How the MLB National League MVP is Determined

The Baseball Writers' Association of America (BBWAA) is responsible for determining the MVP for both the American League and the National League. These voters are baseball journalists from various cities in the United States and Canada, and they closely follow the players throughout the season, evaluating their performances on and off the field.

When the time comes to cast their votes, each BBWAA member selects their top 10 choices for the MVP in both leagues, ranking them in order from first to tenth. A points system is used to tally the votes, with a first-place vote being worth 14 points, a second-place vote worth 9 points, a third-place vote worth 8 points, and so on, down to a tenth-place vote worth 1 point. Once all the votes are in and the points are added up, the player with the highest point total in each league is declared the MVP.

It's important to note that the MVP award is not strictly about statistics, as factors such as team success, individual contributions to the team, and overall impact on the game are all taken into account by the voters.

Past MLB National League MVP Winners

Here's a list of MLB National League MVP winners going back to when the award was first introduced:

2022: Paul Goldschmidt (St. Louis Cardinals)
2021: Bryce Harper (Philadelphia Phillies)
2020: Freddie Freeman (Atlanta Braves)
2019: Cody Bellinger (Los Angeles Dodgers)
2018: Christian Yelich (Milwaukee Brewers)
2017: Giancarlo Stanton (Miami Marlins)
2016: Kris Bryant (Chicago Cubs)
2015: Bryce Harper (Washington Nationals)
2014: Clayton Kershaw (Los Angeles Dodgers)
2013: Andrew McCutchen (Pittsburgh Pirates)
2012: Buster Posey (San Francisco Giants)
2011: Ryan Braun (Milwaukee Brewers)
2010: Joey Votto (Cincinnati Reds)
2009: Albert Pujols (St. Louis Cardinals)
2008: Albert Pujols (St. Louis Cardinals)
2007: Jimmy Rollins (Philadelphia Phillies)
2006: Ryan Howard (Philadelphia Phillies)
2005: Albert Pujols (St. Louis Cardinals)
2004: Barry Bonds (San Francisco Giants)
2003: Barry Bonds (San Francisco Giants)
2002: Barry Bonds (San Francisco Giants)
2001: Barry Bonds (San Francisco Giants)
2000: Jeff Kent (San Francisco Giants)
1999: Chipper Jones (Atlanta Braves)
1998: Sammy Sosa (Chicago Cubs)
1997: Larry Walker (Colorado Rockies)
1996: Ken Caminiti (San Diego Padres)
1995: Barry Larkin (Cincinnati Reds)
1994: Jeff Bagwell (Houston Astros)
1993: Barry Bonds (San Francisco Giants)
1992: Barry Bonds (Pittsburgh Pirates)
1991: Terry Pendleton (Atlanta Braves)
1990: Barry Bonds (Pittsburgh Pirates)
1989: Kevin Mitchell (San Francisco Giants)
1988: Kirk Gibson (Los Angeles Dodgers)
1987: Andre Dawson (Chicago Cubs)
1986: Mike Schmidt (Philadelphia Phillies)
1985: Willie McGee (St. Louis Cardinals)
1984: Ryne Sandberg (Chicago Cubs)
1983: Dale Murphy (Atlanta Braves)
1982: Dale Murphy (Atlanta Braves)
1981: Mike Schmidt (Philadelphia Phillies)
1980: Mike Schmidt (Philadelphia Phillies)
1979: Keith Hernandez (St. Louis Cardinals) and Willie Stargell (Pittsburgh Pirates) (co-winners)
1978: Dave Parker (Pittsburgh Pirates)
1977: George Foster (Cincinnati Reds)
1976: Joe Morgan (Cincinnati Reds)
1975: Joe Morgan (Cincinnati Reds)
1974: Steve Garvey (Los Angeles Dodgers)
1973: Pete Rose (Cincinnati Reds)
1972: Johnny Bench (Cincinnati Reds)
1971: Joe Torre (St. Louis Cardinals)
1970: Johnny Bench (Cincinnati Reds)
1969: Willie McCovey (San Francisco Giants)
1968: Bob Gibson (St. Louis Cardinals)
1967: Orlando Cepeda (St. Louis Cardinals)
1966: Roberto Clemente (Pittsburgh Pirates)
1965: Willie Mays (San Francisco Giants)
1964: Ken Boyer (St. Louis Cardinals)
1963: Sandy Koufax (Los Angeles Dodgers)
1962: Maury Wills (Los Angeles Dodgers)
1961: Frank Robinson (Cincinnati Reds)
1960: Dick Groat (Pittsburgh Pirates)
1959: Ernie Banks (Chicago Cubs)
1958: Ernie Banks (Chicago Cubs)
1957: Hank Aaron (Milwaukee Braves)
1956: Don Newcombe (Brooklyn Dodgers)
1955: Roy Campanella (Brooklyn Dodgers)
1954: Willie Mays (New York Giants)
1953: Roy Campanella (Brooklyn Dodgers)
1952: Hank Sauer (Chicago Cubs)
1951: Roy Campanella (Brooklyn Dodgers)
1950: Jim Konstanty (Philadelphia Phillies)
1949: Jackie Robinson (Brooklyn Dodgers)
1948: Stan Musial (St. Louis Cardinals)
1947: Bob Elliott (Boston Braves)
1946: Stan Musial (St. Louis Cardinals)
1945: Phil Cavarretta (Chicago Cubs)
1944: Marty Marion (St. Louis Cardinals)
1943: Stan Musial (St. Louis Cardinals)
1942: Mort Cooper (St. Louis Cardinals)
1941: Dolph Camilli (Brooklyn Dodgers)
1940: Frank McCormick (Cincinnati Reds)
1939: Bucky Walters (Cincinnati Reds)
1938: Ernie Lombardi (Cincinnati Reds)
1937: Joe Medwick (St. Louis Cardinals)
1936: Carl Hubbell (New York Giants)
1935: Gabby Hartnett (Chicago Cubs)
1934: Dizzy Dean (St. Louis Cardinals)
1933: Carl Hubbell (New York Giants)
1932: Chuck Klein (Philadelphia Phillies)
1931: Frankie Frisch (St. Louis Cardinals)

Before 1931, the MVP award was known as the League Award, and it was given to the best player in the National League for the years 1924-1929:

1930: No award
1929: Rogers Hornsby (Chicago Cubs)
1928: Jim Bottomley (St. Louis Cardinals)
1927: Paul Waner (Pittsburgh Pirates)
1926: No award
1925: Rogers Hornsby (St. Louis Cardinals)
1924: Dazzy Vance (Brooklyn Robins)

Please note that there was no MVP award given in 1930 and 1926.

Dave Rathmanner

Dave Rathmanner is the Founder & CEO of Odds Assist. After struggling to find helpful sports betting resources and honest reviews when he first started betting, he decided to create the site he always wished he had. Dave has been betting on sports since NJ legalized it in 2018 and regularly analyzes sportsbooks to find the best options for bettors. Aside from creating new content for OA readers, Dave is also passionate about researching betting markets, creating models, and developing profitable betting strategies.