2023 MLB American League Cy Young Odds

Below you can see the current odds for the 2023 MLB American League Cy Young Winner from BetRivers Sportsbook. You can bet on who will win the AL Cy Young award at every major online sportsbook in the U.S. Updates daily.

2023 MLB American League Cy Young Odds

[Event already occurred]

How the MLB Cy Young Winner is Determined

The Cy Young Award is given annually to the best pitchers in Major League Baseball. One award is given to the best pitcher in each league (National and American).

The award is named after legendary pitcher Cy Young, who played for 22 seasons in the late 1800s and early 1900s.

The voting for the Cy Young Award is conducted by the Baseball Writers' Association of America (BBWAA). Each writer submits a ballot with their top five picks for the award. The voting takes place after the regular season but before the playoffs begin.

The Cy Young Award voting is based on a pitcher's overall performance during the regular season, including their wins and losses, earned run average (ERA), strikeouts, walks, and other statistical measures. The writer's ballots are then tallied, and the pitcher with the most votes wins the award.

There are different opinions on how the Cy Young Award should be awarded. Some people believe that the award should go to the pitcher with the most wins, while others believe that the award should be given to the pitcher with the best ERA or strikeout rate. Ultimately, the decision is left up to the BBWAA writers who cast their votes based on their own criteria.

Winning a Cy Young Award is a significant accomplishment for any pitcher. It is considered one of the highest honors that a pitcher can achieve in their career. Many of the most famous and successful pitchers in MLB history have won the award, including Roger Clemens, Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, Greg Maddux, and Clayton Kershaw.

Past MLB American League Cy Young Winners

Here's a list of MLB American League Cy Young winners going back to when the award was first introduced:

2022: Justin Verlander (Houston Astros)
2021: Robbie Ray (Arizona Diamondbacks)
2020: Shane Bieber (Cleveland Indians)
2019: Justin Verlander (Houston Astros)
2018: Blake Snell (Tampa Bay Rays)
2017: Corey Kluber (Cleveland Indians)
2016: Rick Porcello (Boston Red Sox)
2015: Dallas Keuchel (Houston Astros)
2014: Corey Kluber (Cleveland Indians)
2013: Max Scherzer (Detroit Tigers)
2012: David Price (Tampa Bay Rays)
2011: Justin Verlander (Detroit Tigers)
2010: Félix Hernández (Seattle Mariners)
2009: Zack Greinke (Kansas City Royals)
2008: Cliff Lee (Cleveland Indians)
2007: CC Sabathia (Cleveland Indians)
2006: Johan Santana (Minnesota Twins)
2005: Bartolo Colón (Los Angeles Angels)
2004: Johan Santana (Minnesota Twins)
2003: Roy Halladay (Toronto Blue Jays)
2002: Barry Zito (Oakland Athletics)
2001: Roger Clemens (New York Yankees)
2000: Pedro Martinez (Boston Red Sox)
1999: Pedro Martinez (Boston Red Sox)
1998: Roger Clemens (Toronto Blue Jays)
1997: Roger Clemens (Toronto Blue Jays)
1996: Pat Hentgen (Toronto Blue Jays)
1995: Randy Johnson (Seattle Mariners)
1994: David Cone (Kansas City Royals)
1993: Jack McDowell (Chicago White Sox)
1992: Dennis Eckersley (Oakland Athletics)
1991: Roger Clemens (Boston Red Sox)
1990: Bob Welch (Oakland Athletics)
1989: Bret Saberhagen (Kansas City Royals)
1988: Frank Viola (Minnesota Twins)
1987: Roger Clemens (Boston Red Sox)
1986: Roger Clemens (Boston Red Sox)
1985: Bret Saberhagen (Kansas City Royals)
1984: Willie Hernández (Detroit Tigers)
1983: LaMarr Hoyt (Chicago White Sox)
1982: Pete Vuckovich (Milwaukee Brewers)
1981: Rollie Fingers (Milwaukee Brewers)
1980: Steve Stone (Baltimore Orioles)
1979: Mike Flanagan (Baltimore Orioles)
1978: Ron Guidry (New York Yankees)
1977: Sparky Lyle (New York Yankees)
1976: Jim Palmer (Baltimore Orioles)
1975: Jim Palmer (Baltimore Orioles)
1974: Catfish Hunter (Oakland Athletics)
1973: Jim Palmer (Baltimore Orioles)
1972: Gaylord Perry (Cleveland Indians)
1971: Vida Blue (Oakland Athletics)
1970: Jim Perry (Minnesota Twins)
1969: Mike Cuellar (Baltimore Orioles)
1968: Denny McLain (Detroit Tigers)
1967: Jim Lonborg (Boston Red Sox)

Dave Rathmanner

Dave Rathmanner is the Founder & CEO of Odds Assist. After struggling to find helpful sports betting resources and honest reviews when he first started betting, he decided to create the site he always wished he had. Dave has been betting on sports since NJ legalized it in 2018 and regularly analyzes sportsbooks to find the best options for bettors. Aside from creating new content for OA readers, Dave is also passionate about researching betting markets, creating models, and developing profitable betting strategies.